MY STYLE. MY LABEL.

This is the last week of Project Sewn Season 3 Sew Along and the last challenge –

Signature+Style+Logo

It has been a lot of fun, and it has been a LOT of challenge. I almost considered to skip this last week because my issues with personal style is what I am currently trying to address. Over the years, my “style” pretty much consisted of jeans and a simple top to get me out of the door in the morning. My consumer habits narrowed down to browsing the sale and clearance racks looking for best deals. In the past year I have been reading a lot on topics such as sustainable fashion, eco-consciousness and ethical approach to shopping, which all relate to personal style. I am still trying to sort through all the information that made itself available to me since I had this sort of awakening, and this shift in my mentality causes me to re-evaluate my approach to what I choose to wear and how I acquire it, among other things. I am nowhere close to having a solid plan, but I made a few changes already. A thought of making my own wardrobe came naturally. What I am presenting today is my attempt to break away from my former state of mind and create a new look that will reflect the changes in my thinking. My future signature style is still under construction, but this is where I am at now.

view_front_black

I made this outfit in my signature creative style. When I work on something, I pay a lot of attention to details inside and out. Finishing my garments with little extras makes them uniquely mine. This is my style, this is how I do things, this is a maze of all things that matter to me and I live in it. This is MaZe Living.

MaZe_label

I used Butterick 5561 pattern and 3 different fabrics to create the top (4 if you count the underlining) – transparent knit with some varnish imprinted flowers for the front, solid black for back and collar, and laced pleather for the sleeves. All three shades of black matched nicely. The flowers on the front are barely noticeable unless the light hits them just right, and even then they look more like a watermark. However the shine is very similar to the muted shine of pleather – photo below illustrates that perfectly.

texture_match

This one is not a great photo (still trying to learn my new camera and thinking that I might need to take a class), but you can really see the transparency effect.

close_up

Pleather is underlined with some silk organza for stability.

organza_lining

The flowers on the skirt are very similar in form to the flowers on the front of the blouse, however I chose large print for my rather larger frame. The skirt is a simple A-line maxi cut on bias to provide better fit and comfort.

Skirt_drapey

Below  are a few finishing details. All seams are finished with rayon binding.

Skirt_trim

Waist facing is done in cotton/linen blend stretchy jacquard – a little stretch works nicely with the bias of the skirt fabric.

Organza_lining

view_front_sarto

view_back

I think this is a step in the right direction to find my signature style. Until I find it, I am going to keep trying.

MaZe

21 comments

    1. Thank you, Sasha. 🙂 I do spend a lot of time finessing the details, sometimes overlooking the “bigger picture”. But I find it very therapeutic – both actually, the process and the knowledge that it is done right.

  1. I love it! The subtle textures and femininity- very nice. To combine multiple fabrics while not creating bulk and blending them so well is a major challenge- You nailed it. The Covet Fairy is hovering at my shoulder!

    1. Thank you, Anne. I am beginning to look forward to your comments with every post. 🙂 You point out things that I work hard to bring into my life – whimsy, femininity. I am declaring war against bulk!

    1. Thank you for checking my post, Tempest. 🙂 I am glad that you pointed that out because I think this is what I am trying to combine in my signature style. Comfort has been a major factor for years and I am not ready to trade it for a pin up look just yet, however I am trying to explore the possibility. 🙂

  2. Your outfit is beautiful and your attention to detail is impeccable! I can identify with your changing consumer habits and personal style quest. You’re obviously a very talented and creative seamstress and I’m interested to see which direction you take all of this!

    1. Thank you, Kristi, for such compliment-packed comment! 🙂 i am really happy with the way it turned out. Sometimes my ideas take quite a different turn in the middle of the project.

  3. Wow, great details and finishing! Love to see a well-executed garment. I, too, am trying to be more sustainable with my buying habits. I try to make a lot of my kids clothes, but it is getting harder to be so productive. Now my really close fabric store is going out of business, it will be harder for me.

    1. Thank you for stopping by, Stacy! I recently started shopping for fabric online, there are a lot of good sources. The two that I use most is fabric.com and FabricMart.com. Everything featured on my blog so far, except for the last post, is made with fabric bought online. It is very convenient when one is a mom. 🙂

  4. Hi, I just found you in Anne’s comments. Good luck blogging and style searching. Looks like you’re getting off to a great start. If I have a signature style I don’t know what it is. I just pick fabrics and patterns that I like and don’t worry much about style. I’ve been sewing for over 30 years and since I started reading sewing blogs I have discovered that I’m doing everything wrong, which is probably why no one ever comments on my sewing posts. I should probably be grateful. 🙂

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog, Lynn. I don’t think there is a wrong way of doing something if it brings the results you are happy with. I am completely self taught when it comes to sewing, and I had to figure out a lot of techniques on my own. I am always happy to find better ways of doing things, and sewing blogging community is a great place to learn and grow as a sewer. I just started my blog and not many people know about it yet, but I noticed that if you comment on someone else’s makes, they will come and visit you blog and often leave a comment too. Networking is a separate skill that takes time and effort to master. 🙂

Thoughts?

