AS PINK AS IT GETS

Ladies and gentlemen, let me present my entry for the Pink Challenge by Project Sewn.

front_view

Let me tell you the story behind this project. When I first told my daughter about the Pink Challenge, her immediate reaction was – does it have to be PINK?!? So we compromised, and compromised some more…. And TADA! Here is the result:

say-no-to-pink

poster_face

back_view

sitting_pretty

I chose a beautiful black, white and pink cotton border print from Fabric Mart that I purchased a while back. BTW, I LOVE these guys! I think they satisfy a tiny gambling tendency in me. Their stock changes so quickly that you always feel like a winner when you come across something really nice, and they DO have some nice fabric!

border_print

I loved the way black and white design brings pink flowers out. It reminded me of the technique photographers use for monochromatic images with added spot of color effect to create a focal point. As I was sewing up the dress, my concern grew bigger – what if it isn’t pink ENOUGH for the challenge contest? I started thinking up the ways to “pink up” the dress, one bit at a time. First, I sewed pink Swarovski crystals to embellish some of the printed flowers on the bodice:

beads

There is even a small pink crystal inside every ribbon embroidered flower I used on the top of the bodice to add some dimension. Did you notice that there is a lot of dimension in fashion these days, from quilted panels in skirts and jackets to beautiful jacquard textures?

flower

I used the pink edge of fabric border to accentuate the waist.

bodice

It still didn’t seem pink enough, however I was making this for someone who DOES NOT WEAR PINK. My only options were to add pink to hidden and invisible parts of the dress, in other words lining and zipper. Pinks look different in this photo because this shot was taken inside my sewing room, but all pinks match very nicely.

zipper

At the end, all is good. We are both happy with this dress, and I even got a happy dance. πŸ™‚

twirl

I will post a few more details on the dress construction in a couple of days. I do like my garments to be pretty on the inside and this one is no exception. πŸ™‚Β This week has been a challenge and it is topped by Valentine’s Day commotion AND my birthday on Sunday. There is some hinting that I might get a better camera for my birthday! Yay! So I will get to practice taking better pictures for this blog.

I also want to thank everyone who voted for me in the last round, this is such an honor to share my creations with you! This is a baby blog and it still needs a lot of love and care in setting up all proper introductions and links. I have a lot of ideas and plans for that so I hope to see you checking in from time to time.

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

MaZe

23 comments

    1. Thank you, Zoik! I think we had the most fun doing the photoshoot, happy dance and all! It was a liberating experience for both of us when I told her to put on as much makeup and attitude as she wants and act as a bad girl. πŸ™‚ Maybe that is the way to live through her teen years. πŸ™‚

  1. That is a great dress and looks wonderful on her. My daughter is hard enough to sew for now at 8…I know it will only get harder as she gets older! Looks like you daughter likes the dress, so I call that a win. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! It is soooo true!
      I came across a mention of DYT on your blog (through ProjectSewn link), and it couldn’t be more timely. I just watched the first video and wanted to say thanks for sharing.

  2. Very nice! It looks amazing. The design, the detail, and the overall look is incredible. I can see girls absolutely loving this this! How can you get in stores? If you ever need a photographer and we are in the same town, id love to help out:)

    1. Thank you. Really wish the distance wasn’t as great, it is a nice offer. πŸ™‚ Not ready for stores yet, but who knows how everything turns out. Nothing is off limits. πŸ™‚

  3. Congrats on your win! What a fabulous dress! I’m enjoying seeing all the makes in Project Sewn and so glad I’ve found your new blog. All the best and Happy Birthday!

  4. The dress is amazing! It is so difficult to sew for teenagers (not that I have one, my kids are still just kids… but I have teenagers on my family, so I can tell…) and you were able to make something great! Congratulations on the winning it is so well deserved! Oh, and congrats on your blog too. It is great to share our makings with other fellow sew-maniacs. πŸ™‚

Thoughts?

